Nannas Day Nurseries follows the EYFS – the Early Years Foundation Stage.

The EYFS is a framework for children from birth to five years, covering the welfare and development of children. This is a statutory framework for all Early Years and Childcare Settings (including nurseries and childminders) and is covered in the Reception year at school.

The framework focuses on learning and development through play and we fully embrace this at Nannas Day Nurseries, allowing children to learn and develop at their own pace through their own likes and interests. We tailor the activities and experiences provided to meet their individual needs. The Welfare guidance covers the safety and security of the setting, the facilities, equipment and quality of the provision, and the qualifications, experience, training and DBS checks of staff.

The development guidance covers 7 main areas of learning and development with each section containing certain development milestones and steps that each child should achieve or work towards achieving.

The areas of learning are separated into Prime and Specific areas. The Prime areas are the focus for all 0-2 year olds and are the building blocks on which the Specific learning can then take place. These areas are:

  • Prime - Personal, Social and Emotional development
  • Prime: Communication and Language
  • Prime: Physical development
  • Specific: Literacy
  • Specific: Maths
  • Specific: Understanding the World
  • Specific: Expressive Arts and Design

Your child’s Key Person will monitor their progress through the EYFS and keep you updated of any achievements or concerns, planning together for their next steps. This will be kept in their Individual Education Programme which you can ask to view at any time. Please also feel free to share ideas for learning and development or achievements at home. For more information on the EYFS please visit www.direct.gov.uk/eyfs


Return to the top of the page

Img 1994 Img 1852